THE PRESSER FOUNDATION

Over 75 Years of Music Philanthropy

Summer Greetings

The 2018-19 Fiscal Year came to a close on June 30th. The Foundation gifted approximately \$3.3 million in five programmatic areas related to music education, music performance, and music presentation. We wish you a relaxing summer and look forward to the upcoming year!

Officers, Trustees and Honorary Trustees Announced

The Presser Foundation held its Annual Board Meeting on June 20th where the Officers, Trustees, and Honorary Trustees for the upcoming year were confirmed.

The Presser Foundation is pleased to announce the Officers for the 2019-20 Fiscal Year:

President - Jeffrey Cornelius Vice President - William B. McLaughlin, III Treasurer - Ellen Rosen Secretary - Sharon L. Sorokin

Trustees elected for a three-year term through June 30, 2021 include:

Vera Wilson, Lucinda S. Landreth, Sharon L. Sorokin, and John Wright.

Leon Bates and **William M. Davison, 4th** served as Trustees of The Presser Foundation since 2000 and 1986 respectively. In recognition for their exemplary service, the gentlemen received the title of Honorary Trustee and each given the opportunity to provide a grant to a musical organization.

The Presser Foundation Undergraduate Scholar Award

Undergraduate schools of music at accredited colleges, universities and independent institutions of higher education are invited to apply for the opportunity to present the Presser Undergraduate Scholar Award to an outstanding music major whom they select.

The Award is approximately \$4,000 payable at the end of a student's junior year. The exact amount of the award varies from year to year on the basis of the availability of funds and the number of awards that the Committee approves.

www.presserfoundation.org

The Presser Foundation was established in 1939 under the Deeds of Trust and Will of the late Theodore Presser, an educator, publisher and philanthropist. It is one of the few private foundations in the United States dedicated solely to music education and music philanthropy.



Officers and Trustees

Jeffrey Cornelius President William B. McLaughlin, III Vice President Ellen Rosen Treasurer Sharon L. Sorokin, Esq. Secretary

Mary Jane Bobyock
Peter Burwasser
Lucinda S. Landreth
Susan Lewis
Corey R. Smith
Radclyffe F. Thompson
Mark Wait
Vera Wilson
John Wright

Honorary Trustees

Leon Bates
Anthony P. Checchia
William M. Davison, 4th
Robert W. Denious, Esq.
Martin A. Heckscher, Esq.
Thomas M. Hyndman, Esq.
Henderson Supplee, III

Committee Members

The student is to be selected by the music faculty guided solely by consideration of excellence and merit. This award is an honor award and the student, in his/her senior year, is to be known as a Presser Scholar.

The Presser Foundation staff has been working diligently with with schools of music to ensure each Presser Scholar has received the full intended benefits of the Scholar Award as per the Foundation's **terms**. Schools of music should award the Presser Scholar with the funds in the form of a check or direct deposit at the end of their junior year. The funds are to be used at the Presser Scholar's discretion and can be applied towards any expenses normally incurred in pursuit of degree or additional enrichment opportunities not typically available in a classroom setting.

Grant Deadlines & Decision Notification Dates

Grant Making Area	Proposal Deadline	Decision Notification
Advancement of Music	November 15th	March 1st
Assistance To Music Teachers	Ongoing	Ongoing
Capital Support	February 1st	May 1st
Special Projects	October 15th	January 1st
<u>Undergraduate Scholar</u> Award	September 1st	November 15th

^{*}Please note the grant guidelines for **Special Projects** have been re-established to clarify the nature of what is truly special versus normal operations or programming of grantee organizations. We strongly encourage careful <u>review</u>. Newly established music organizations (within 3 years) should now apply under Special Projects for general operating support typically provided through Advancement of Music.

Debra Harder
David Kring
Phillip Lian
Mary Ellen Poole
Chris Rinaldi
Stanford Thompson
Susan Van Vorst
Melinda Whiting
Peter Witte
Maurice Wright

Staff Information

Teresa Araco Rodgers *Executive Director*trodgers@presserfoundation.org

Janine Baschoff **Grants Manager**jbaschoff@presserfoundation.org

Office Information

1501 Cherry Street Philadelphia, PA 19102

(T) 267.519.5350

Online Grant Management

The Presser Foundation utilizes an online grant management system powered by Foundant. The system allows for all prospective and current grantees to submit proposals and reports **online**.